Skip to content

Pixlr Is Pretty Darned Cool

June 25, 2010

It’s rare these days that I find  something on the web that’s both cool and functional. Via PetaPixel, I came across Pixlr, a web browser based photo editing application. With many Photoshop-like features, it opened my 4MP ballerina image in a split second, and it’s a breeze to use.

Right off the bat, I thought of 2 great uses. Number one would be for the novice who is on the fence about purchasing Photoshop. This little lighting fast online app will help you get your feet wet, there’s no money investment because it’s free, and you’re not wasting time with downloading insane Adobe-sized chunks of data. Get the hang of this, and your decision will be formed. I find 3 kinds of people who use Photoshop – those who “get it”, those who never will, and those who just do it badly. My cousin was one who just never “got it”, and she dropped a hundred bucks on Elements only to have it sit on the hard drive. I hate to see people  frustrated and unable to pursue what they want, but let’s face it, the imaging and graphics stuff is just not for everyone.

The second great use here is for when one is on the road. There are times when I just don’t want to be dragging a laptop around, and it’s usually at those times that I will have to do a quick markup for a client. On clients’ computers, I’ve encountered just about every piece of weird image editing software in existence and have stumbled my way through he apps. Now, if there’s an internet connection, it’s just a matter of going to Pixlr and doing what I need in a minute or two.

While it’s not a substitute for full blown Photoshop on a full time basis, it’s sure nice to know it’s out there. I wish the Pixlr crew much success. Great job!

Share

One Comment
  1. Ray permalink
    June 25, 2010 10:22 pm

    I gave it a try based on your tip, and it is wicked fast. All depends on your connection I guess. And you are right, this is a great option for people on the road for those who need to do a quick markup.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

