Skip to content

The Blog Banner

February 4, 2010
tags:

3d Tropical island full viewHad some time today and decided to do up a little banner for the blog. The image was created in about 5 minutes in Vue 3D. While Vue is really bad as a 3D modeler (at least in my old version 6 anyway), it excels at terrains, vegetation, skyscapes, atmospheres etc. I have done a few product renderings in Vue, but that’s definitely not its strong suit.  If you’d like to create your own imaginary worlds, Vue is a great program. I do have sort of a love-hate relationship with the software company, but I’ll rant on that in another post.

I’ve posted a more standard view of the image here. As you can see, not much to it. One terrain with an ecosystem, a water plane, a canned atmosphere setting right out of the program, and a few point lights. I actually used a point light for the main sun and it works nicely, even though scientifically, it’s not correct for the scene lighting. I do like this image a lot, so on the final large piece, I’ll do a little more work on it, such as adding foam to the shoreline, repositioning of the sun and probably some camera zoom. It does work nicely as is for the banner though.

Edit 4/11/2009: The original banner has been replaced, but here’s the old one just in case you missed it

Share

2 Comments
  1. Michael Brown permalink
    February 6, 2010 11:36 am

    That looks like the perfect spot for the vacation I need. Is there a small resort located in the palms? Is it taking reservations?

  2. February 6, 2010 3:57 pm

    There is a bed & breakfast hidden in the palms with fresh baked bread every morning 😉

Comments are closed.

