Skip to content

It’s All Smoke And Mirrors

February 12, 2010

Skyscraper NightscapeBuilding and rendering a city skyline can be a daunting task. But sometimes in order to get the effect you want, you simply need to create the illusion instead of constructing each building with all of the individual windows. It all depends on the individual project. This is where good texturing can save you hours of work and many headaches.

The image here is a little promo for my Skyscraper Windows Texture Pack over at 3D Studio. The idea here is to showcase a starry sunset and give the illusion of a night time skyline. The buildings are just simple elongated cubes along with a couple of cylinders. I put a few trees in the scene to add some interest.

Since this is a small file promo image I don’t need high detail. I do like how the base image came out though, so in the future art piece I may add some roof elements, maybe some radio antennas and beacons. And I’ll better calculate my building scaling and distances to get things looking even better.

2 Comments
  1. Michael Brown permalink
    February 14, 2010 7:53 pm

    Those textures look really useful, I think I’ll give them a try when I get started doing more 3D, real soon now

  2. February 15, 2010 6:06 pm

    The pack has a dozen textures, and I just added one more. To get the twinkly light effect, I have found that this is really the way to go.

Comments are closed.

