Skip to content

Flummoxed By Blender? Me Too!

February 14, 2010

Over the years I was on the quest, like many others, to find the perfect 3D modeler. Back in the day, while trying to use Lightwave 7, my old 19 inch CRT almost made the trip right out of a second story window. Such was my frustration level. Those were the days of dialup internet, and it may have even been pre-Youtube, so training resources were not as accessible as today. I put Lightwave away for awhile and researched other modeling options.

A friend of mine told me about Blender and how great it was. I just didn’t get it at all. The interface just didn’t jive with my way of thinking and working. And yet I had seen some amazing things done with the free open source modeler.

Now that I’m more experienced in general with 3D, I’ll be giving Blender another crack in the future. If you’re one of those like me that was stymied by Blender, but you’re willing to give things another try, here’s a great resource for you:

It’s a very cool blog called Blender Newbies.

Yes, the Blender Newbies blog does push a tutorial DVD for sale, but even so, there’s more than enough material right on the blog to get you started. At $24.50 though, the DVD is not a bad deal.

Share

Comments are closed.

