Skip to content

Architectural Dreams

March 2, 2010

As I’ve made my way back into the 3D realm, one thing keeps nagging at me, and that is the desire to be competent at architecture visualizations, both exterior and interior. But being able to achieve such pieces of work does usually come with a cost, and sometimes it’s a big one.  Not being a student, the price tags on some of the high end software for me are pretty much out of reach. The AutoDesk products are into the thousands of dollars. So they’re not for me, at least not right now.

In cruising around the web, I asked myself, “Can you achieve your own Architectural Dreams with lower priced, or even free software?” The answer is yes, and I was surprised to see that there are a few architects out there actually using Blender, the free open source 3D modeling and rendering software, for some nice visualization work.

As I’ve noted here before, I am intimidated by Bender. I did recently download the new Blender 2.5 Alpha, and to my surprise, was able to get around it in much easier fashion than the previous versions.  Haven’t produced anything worthwhile yet, but it’s at least a start.

If you’d explore using the Blender software for architecture, I suggest visiting the Blender 3D Architect website. It’s professionally written and is full of great information. Don’t expect this to be a “Tutorials” site. Rather, it is an excellent guide or roadmap. While there are a number of really good technical posts like this one, Scripts To Automatically Create 3D Buildings, the author explores and teaches in a sound and sensible way, exploring options and offering solutions. There is also good commentary as well as resource links to things like renderers, plus discussion of alternate software possibilities.

Comments are closed.

