Skip to content

No, I Haven’t Seen Avatar

March 4, 2010

A few of my computer geek friends have been prodding and prodding me as to why I haven’t seen Avatar. Simple answer, it’s just not my cup of tea. Kind of ironic in that Cameron is one of my favorite movie directors, but he’ll not gain any further income from me on this one. True Lies and Titanic are amongst my favorite titles, but seeing blue people riding around on winged dragons is just not how I want to spend my time. Big budget and big box office receipts are not always big motivators for me.

I like computer animation and of course I like to know how the technology is employed, but the Avatar movie as a whole simply does not appeal. I could never get into stuff like Lord of the Rings. Even though I have the Rings movies here somewhere on DVD, I’ve just never have been able to sit through them. Movies for me are a source of relaxation and enjoyment, and why suffer through fantasy genre I just don’t enjoy? I bought the Rings movies in the interest of seeing how the CG was used, but after only about a half hour into the first movie I was kind of lost. Perhaps I’ll give them another spin on the future, but for now, it’s not first on my list of things to do.

So the prodding of the friends persisted, and the almost certain eventual question of Alice In Wonderland came up. Would I go see it? Well, the answer is, maybe. I like the look and feel of that one, and it will be interesting to see how they twist the classic.

Comments are closed.

