Skip to content

Magic Mushrooms

March 29, 2010

Portrait of MushroomsI’ve been having so much fun with silly Daz Studio a bit that I decided to buck up the program’s model inventory a bit, and one of the purchases I made was a mushroom and curly thing pack from Lisa’s Botanicals over on Daz3D. I really didn’t know what to expect – I’d never bought any of the plant models over there.  Combined with another pack called Mushroom Magic, I came up with this quick image in about 10 minutes or so. The price tags on the packs may seem just a bit high, but I joined the Platinum Club over at Daz at least for the tenure of my learning the program, so the packs were only $1.99 each.

I’m liking this silly image a lot and may fine tune some things in order to take it to a fine art piece. No Photoshop here – it’s basically right out of the gate. I’ve been experimenting with the Deep Shadow Maps on the lights and the results have been pretty nice. Those curly green things from Lisa’a pack transform the image from somewhat boring to almost whimsical.

So why did I buy mushroom models? Well, next come the Fairies, and trust me, I never thought I’d be doing Fairies in a million years, but I saw some work from a few top notch Poser artists, and I must say, I’m hooked. As I need to beef up my greeting card line, the new images I’ll be creating will go to good use. Because everyone loves the Fairies 😉

Comments are closed.

