Skip to content

Firefly Fairy

April 1, 2010

Here she is, the first of the Fairies. Her name is Firefly 😉 Never in a million years would I have thought of doing images like this. My general distaste for fairies goes back to a photography forum where the ladies there seemed to think that putting fairy wings on little girls via Photoshop would solve all of their photographic problems. The stuff was so bad I quit visiting that forum.But when I saw some of the images done by Adrie over at Renderosity, I felt oddly inspired.

When I do any fantasy type pieces, I do accept them for what they are, fantasy and imaginary. In this piece here, I did try out a set of very realistic skin textures I have, and guess what, they looked terrible here. So I just went back to the original standard res skin set.

The background is a stock photo, but in front I put in a neutral background plane with opacity reduced, and aimed a green spotlight at it. That way I didn’t have to muck with the image in Photoshop – I used the neutral plane for density and lighting adjustments.

Haven’t decided if I want to go further with this. The atmosphere seems like it needs something. Perhaps I’ll take it into Photoshop and make some additions like maybe some scrolls and curly things for some framing. Overall though, I’m pretty happy with the way this came out.

Comments are closed.

