Skip to content

Why I Don’t Do Facebook

April 3, 2010

A few friends have been after me to get on Facebook, and I really just don’t see the point. I tried the FB thing once, and it just made no sense to me. The race to get the most friends doesn’t interest me in the least, and my everyday doings are not all that exciting. I have no desire to track what 3000 others are doing – I have enough trouble keeping up with my own stuff! Another web time waster if I ever saw one. It’s a bandwagon I don’t need to get on.

Actually the popularity of FB is bothersome to me in a way. This arrived in my inbox from WebProNews (Mar 16):

Although the “thud” wasn’t verified until this afternoon, it seems that an online giant fell a couple of days ago. According to new data from Hitwise, Facebook managed to beat Google in terms of visits between March 7th and March 13th, becoming the most visited website in the U.S. for the week.

In general, social media is a good thing. You can keep with others that share your interests or just see what the current pulse is on current events. But really, how many times do you need to visit or post to a website in one day? Some FB devotees are rabid in their addiction to this stuff.

I nearly forgot about my Twitter account for the blog, but I promise I’ll try and Tweet a little more. Similarly with Twitter,  I don’t need to know what Ashton Kutcher is doing every minute of his Hollywood life. In any given day, there are really only 3 or 4 people where I have any interest at all in keeping up with their activities. And maybe a few clients, plus a few vendors I frequent, because from time to tome, they’ll post vendor specials on Twitter. My main focus these days is learning and relearning the 3D stuff, and that is a major task in itself.

One Comment
  1. April 4, 2010 7:15 am

    Hey, I just happened to stumble over here from WordPress.

    My view on Facebook is that it is very, very useful (though not efficient) for what people need it to do. As a high school/college student, seeing all of my classmates’ comments is more-than-useful, as it allows us to (1) quickly answer each others’ questions, (2) collaborate on homework, studying, reading, whatever else may have been assigned, and (3) stay focused by peer pressure (if everybody on the internet has already gotten their work done, well damn, it’s about time isn’t it).

    (1) – What’s a better way to reach out to people you know than to ask them all at once? Phone calls are alright, but the power of Facebook or Twitter specifically to ask a question to everybody who might know in order to get the quickest replies is amazing.

    (2) – Personally, I don’t think anything has made planning study parties easier than Facebook statuses or Twitter… umm… “tweets”. With one click, it’s advertised, people see it quickly, and you get notified of replies.

    (3) – It’s pretty hard [not impossible, though ;-)] to get distracted from work when as soon as I log on to a social media site, the first things I see are all of the other people working on the exact same project/assignment/etc. Makes it very hard to justify slacking off.

    Of course, I have no idea how this would translate to the working world, but social media does have its place in the world.

Comments are closed.

