Skip to content

Portraiture In Daz Studio

April 7, 2010

Whenever I am learning and exploring new software, I try and start the session with a new goal or technique in mind. Instead of trying to bang my head against the wall trying to put together a large and complex project, I’ll rely on skills I’ve already learned well and try and add a new twist. Here I added the Camera Depth of Field feature in Daz Studio to the mix. It resulted in this beautiful soft portrait.

I call the character here Elizabeth, because she looks a little like my friend Liz. She’s gone prematurely gray, overdoes her lipstick a little bit, but there’s still a nice youthful look in the eyes. I’ll be using her in a commercial project in the near future.

The Depth of Field feature attempts to emulate Depth of Field as in a 35mm SLR camera. Although the specs don’t mimic exactly when compared to a physical camera, as you can see here the effect is pretty pleasing.

The DOF feature in Daz is pretty easy to use. You need to add a New Camera, the Default Camera won’t work. Then just use your right or left views to see the DOF preview planes. Once you get the idea of how things work, it just takes a minute or two to set up, and best of all, you’ll get a more true and realistic effect instead of having to use the ghastly Blur Tools in Photoshop. Give Daz DOF a try. You might be pleasantly surprised.

As usual, the render is right out of Daz Studio with no retouch. Just love that little program.

One Comment
  1. Ray permalink
    May 9, 2010 6:18 pm

    She looks like my wife!

Comments are closed.

