Skip to content

How Much Ram For Vue 8?

April 25, 2010
tags:

And the answer is, as much as you can afford, beg, borrow, or steal. Given the state of my current computer hardware, it looks like I’m going to be sitting at Vue 6 Pro Studio for awhile. Take a look at what Virtual Lands 3D has to say. Here’s a quote

When I started working with Vue 8 (beta), I tested various scenes I had made previously.
One of them, titled Mad Gorges, made it choke. Vue 8 would crash every time I tried to render it, consuming all the available memory during the dynamic ecosystem population. My computer would then start to swap madly and become unrecoverable.

It’s nice to get real feedback from real users instead of some canned press release from the company, or from some blogger who merely repeats the canned press release.

Don’t get me wrong, I’d love to get the upgrade, but I don’t use Vue enough in my commercial work to justify the new feature set. And to upgrade for the sake of upgrade is plain stupid. Hopefully next year I’ll get the “screamer machine”. Right now it simply doesn’t fit my game plan.

Be sure to take a look at the rest of the site over at Virtual Lands. Some very nice work there. A few nice Vue tutorials too if you’re into landscapes.

