Skip to content

A Little About 3D World Magazine

April 26, 2010

As I mentioned in a recent post, 3D World Magazine is one of my favorite resources. I did subscribe for a couple of years, and for me the price tag of the subscription from across the pond was well justified. I was able to become immersed in the terminology, understand workflow and get tips from professionals. It really helped me in getting a good start in the 3D area.

The only real drawback for me is that the book is geared more towards character development, gaming etc. And while it’s worth it to have knowledge in those areas, my main function at the time was product renderings, industrial machinery, and stuff like that. I’ve kept all of my old copies though, and now that I’m into the character stuff a little more, even the old issues have found new life.

If you’re in the US and can’t afford the subscription rate, do head down to the local Borders of Barnes and Noble – you’ll likely find a current issue on the rack. Since the publication comes from Europe, be forewarned that the magazine is priced considerably higher than the common rag. You won’t be disappointed though. Each issue comes with a resource CD with software, models textures, tutorials.

So although I don’t subscribe any more, I do keep an eye out for what’s on the stand, and if the content is of value to me, I do pick it up. If you’re a Max user, you’ll love this magazine. If you’re not, there lots of content for you too. Never discount though, the value of learning material that is outside your primary discipline.

And if your desire is to pursue 3D animation seriously, you’ll be over the moon with their issues. Lots of good solid information here.

Comments are closed.

