Skip to content

Smoke Fairy

May 2, 2010

From my archives. This is an earlier Daz image I did that I had almost forgotten about. It was done before I started collecting fairy wings. I didn’t have any at the time, so I duplicated the skirt twice, then rotated and floated them. I was going to alter the image map and kill the tassels, but it looked better with them believe it or not.

The background is am image of smoke mapped onto a plane primitive. There’s no post processing here, it’s straight out of Daz, so another tribute to the fine renderer.

The inspiration here came from a commercial fashion image I was working on for a client. We tried to get a floating affect on parts of the clothing using big fans, but things got out of control in short order 😉 We wound up rigging the clothing with very thin wire and anchoring it, then used fans on low to make the fabric billow a bit. This was much easier to do, and I didn’t have to deal with a cranky model.

One Comment

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Smoke Fairy « Firelight3d's Blog -- Topsy.com

Comments are closed.

