Skip to content

Splash!

May 3, 2010

Was rooting around some photos and thought I’d share one of my water splash images. This one was fun to do. I used a rectangular glass baking pan and put a sheet of silver hologram foil giftwrap paper right into the water. That’s where all of the rainbow effects are coming from. A couple of pops from some strobes seal the deal here.

Flashes that go full manual and that can be adjusted down to at last 1/64 pwr are preferable for shooting high speed. It’s the short flash duration that freezes your images. Setting up backgrounds and/or fill cards is how you will in essence “light” the surface water. Get that light bouncing in the right directions and at the right angles, and you’ll be fine with exposures.

If you’d like to learn more about shooting high speed images, there’s and excellent group over on Flickr. You’ll find everything from artful water splashes to small explosions 😉

And if that isn’t enough, here’s a great video to help get you started.

4 Comments
  1. May 3, 2010 9:09 am

    Thanks so much for the lesson. I’ll give this a try.

  2. May 3, 2010 9:34 am

    Very cool shot – I have played with water – but used different colors of food coloring for effect – oh and I have some shots of coffee and cream LOL 🙂 Very cool idea – I will have to check that out !!!

  3. Michael Brown permalink
    May 3, 2010 10:58 am

    Fascinating. I have always wondered how photographers did those shots. ‘hologram’ gift wrap paper’. That would never have occurred to me in a thousand years.

Trackbacks

  1. A Splash Of Black « Firelight3d's Blog

Comments are closed.

