Skip to content

OBJ Files In Daz Studio

May 4, 2010

I got a question the other day from a 3D beginner asking if you can import Wavefront OBJ files into Daz Studio, and the answer is, yes you can. Your figure models in Daz are actually OBJ files, but are transparent to the casual user. So just ensure you have the .mtl and associated texture files. Here I picked a random free model of a vase off the web, and it imported cleanly into DS, texture and all. The inquiring beginner is starting off using Hexagon, a very capable modeler but a very poor renderer. At least Daz Studio will give him some good lighting options. Here, I set up the vase model almost as if I was going to shoot it in a photo studio. I set up a main light and two kickers for the sidelights. A spotlight is aimed at the background to simulate a gel effect, and the camera Depth Of Field option s set up to blur the line where my two material planes meet. Your mileage may vary depending on the complexity and quality of the model. Not bad for a 5 minute job.

You can pick up the Vase Model here. The map texture is small but the geometry s good.

Comments are closed.

