Skip to content

Rendering In Incendia

May 11, 2010

I’ve gotten a few questions from some web friends regarding Rendering in Incendia. And the main query was  “How Long?” Hmmm, that’s a good one. The program lacks a progress bar. So I did a little hunting through the support documentation and came up with this

“Once you consider that the fractal is enough rendered, select the Render tab to show the rendering options panel.”

So I guess the answer is, “as long as it takes” LOL. A reference page for Rendering can be found here.

In my little blue green encased orb image above (click the image for a larger version), I let the render run for about 6 or 7 minutes, and at a 2048×2048 resolution, it looks great. Smooth and clean, no artifacts.

Gold Floral OrnamentHowever, in this gold floral ornament image at left, after letting the render go for a little over a half hour, the final 2048×2048 image showed some grain in what I thought should be smooth areas. With the render preview, it was a little hard to tell. Don’t forget, this is a small program from an independent developer.

So, the more complex the design, the longer you’ll have to go. Even though this gold ball does exhibit some grain, the more I look at it, the more I like it, so I’m going to stick with it. I did do another image that had a lot of wide area metallic gradients. Even after over 2 hours of rendering time, there was significant banding in the image. Since I hate retouching, I’ve abandoned that one. Renders can be saved as BMP, or, if no image background is specified, as a transparent PNG.

So on the very simple clean stuff, you may get things done in a few minutes. Complex formulas and textures will take more work, and looking at my experience with the metallic banding, it could be that some will just never come out right.

About hating retouch… I’ve been a Photoshop user since about 1997. Yes I’m a qualified user, and yes I can be considered expert level. But having retouched probably 15,000 images or so for clients over the course of time, I’m tired is all. Whether it is camera output or 3D output, I do my best to get things right or as close to it as I can without retouching, or with a very minor minimal amount. I may address retouch in a future post.

BTW if you’d like to see other posts about Incendia, just go to the Tags Cloud. There are a few informative bits there.

3 Comments
  1. Michael Brown permalink
    May 11, 2010 10:47 am

    I really like the orbs-around-sphere; very impressive for a 6-7 minute render. I can see it as a PNG against a starfield background. Makes me want to try fractals again. But who has time??!!!

    Guess I should use the Photoshop CS Content Aware Fill to edit my calendar so that I have an extra week in the the month of May 😉

  2. May 11, 2010 10:23 pm

    Yeah I really like that orb image. I sort of see it on black with a white outer mat and framed square in an elegant molding. Would be great for a science geek’s office 😉

  3. Ray permalink
    May 11, 2010 10:28 pm

    I gave this a try just for fun. Amazing little program, and you don’t have to be a techie to have fun with it. You’re right, on things like the “flame” fractals, the render time is way out there to get something satisfactory. So I just stay away from those. The flames are way overdone because of Apoph anyway.

Comments are closed.

