Skip to content

Carrara Lounge On YouTube

June 3, 2010
tags:

Carrara Lounge now has its own YouTube Channel. It will be nice to have everything in one place with easy access. Marcelo over at the Lounge was posting some things up in DivX format previously. This meant another player with another software install, not something I like to do. Simplicity and a more universal access method is best n my opinion.

For saving YouTube videos, I use Savevid.com. It works great in Firefox. There are probably other (and probably easier) ways to do it, but once I found Savevid, I was too lazy to look further. I think there is an ad screen,but it’s not too annoying to me. If I DL’s lot’s of vides, I’d probably look further, but for me it’s fine.

For offline playback, I use VLC Media Player. To me it’s the very best media player out there. It’s free and open source. I first discovered VLC in it’s lighter version back awhile ago. This player will run just abut anything out there without having to worry about Codecs. They’ve beefed up the player in this version, but it’s remains somewhat lightweight. I hate bloatware like Windows Media Player.

From the VLC website:

VLC Player is the most popular portable multimedia player for various video and audio formats as well as DVDs, VCDs, and various streaming protocols without additional program and codec. It can be used as a server to stream in unicast or multicast in IPv4 or IPv6 on a high-bandwidth network.

Supports a large number of multimedia formats, without the need for additional codecs
VLC media player can also convert media files, transcode and act as a streaming server over unicast or multicast and IPv4 or IPv6. It doesn’t need any external codec, program or codec pack to work.

I haven’t used any of the features other than playback, but trust me, when someone hands you a video file with a bizarre extension, you’ll be glad you have this utility. Great stuff!

Share

Comments are closed.

