Skip to content

The Dream Office

June 22, 2010

I don’t know where the time is going. Here it is already June, and I’ve barely scratched the surface on some of the 3D stuff I’ve wanted to attack. There just aren’t enough hours in the day. And I have a major task looming. My office workspace needs a giant enema. Right now I’m looking at a Leica laying on top of a pile of books, a pile of DVDs I haven’t watched, and and a box of props gathered for an upcoming shoot. Plus, the computer farm has grown, and soon I’m going to need an additional monitor. So right now I’m thinking about what would be better as a computer work area, a long raceway setup, or a corner situation. I’m far from decided on that.

Luckily, my desk area is fairly free of major debris, but the bookcases and the photo prop boxes need a major purging. I think I can safely ditch my Photoshop 6 Bible now. In an ideal world I’d love to have some kind of custom bookcase with doors for the camera stuff, but right now, that’s just a pipe dream. I’d like to be able to “grab and go” instead of digging through the large camera bag and a rolling case.

My little 3D illustration of the Dream Office above is pretty darned funny. As you can see, the overly large monitor is now considered pretty much a boat anchor, but back in the day when I did this image, everybody was Jonesin’ for one of those big 21 inch honkers. And what’s with that drafting table? My T-square is long gone.

So I’ll get the tape measure out tomorrow, measure up the room, and get some things down on paper. Why not do it in 3D? Because I’m not a masochist, that’s why πŸ˜‰ That would be really more trouble than it’s worth. After I do my little sketch, I will likely be off to the Home Depot to see what’s new and exciting there. The goal is to get things done by the end of September, so it will be interesting to see how I do.

Share

3 Comments
  1. Michael Brown permalink
    June 22, 2010 11:34 am

    Redoing your office – yet another major undertaking! Hope for your sake this doesn’t mean more all-nighters catching up on your other jobs. When stuff piles up in my office, my solution is usually to pile more stuff on it. Too bad that doesn’t work indefinitely.

  2. June 22, 2010 12:43 pm

    Eventually that pile will topple πŸ˜‰ I’ve already proven that!

  3. Ray permalink
    June 23, 2010 11:26 am

    Even though it’s archaic, that’s a cute rendering. Good luck with your project.

Comments are closed.

