Skip to content

Happy Independence Day

July 4, 2010
tags:

It’s a day for celebration in the USA, and also a day to give thanks. I live in a great country, and although I bitch about  a lot of things, I’m very grateful. When I think about poverty and oppression in other parts of the world, I ask myself if I would be tough enough to handle that. I don’t know. Sometimes you just don’t know what you’re made of until you are faced with extreme circumstances. I’ve had my share of harder times, but never to the extremes that some face some.

My maternal grandparents were Russian immigrants and they both came here by boat. I regret not having conversations with them about that voyage, and about why they came here. I do know though that they saw an opportunity for  a better life. Not necessarily easier, but better because of Freedom. Through hard work, they were able to provide all of the children with a good education, and the importance of learning was communicated to me and my brother at an early age. I guess it’s their fault we both became overachievers LOL…

So today we’ll have a little cookout, probably catch the local fireworks show, and I’ll be thankful for how lucky I am to be able to enjoy the leisurely day.

The image here of Mount Rushmore was taken a few years ago with a point & shoot. It was pretty overcast when shot, but I cut in  a new sky via a layer mask in Photoshop and made some other adjustments. The little bit of work resulted in a pretty nice rescued image. I wonder how hard it would be to model these guys in 3D? 😉

Share

2 Comments
  1. Michael Brown permalink
    July 5, 2010 11:49 am

    “I wonder how hard it would be to model these guys in 3D? ”
    http://www.3dexport.com/img-mt-rushmore-6601.htm
    Looks a little pricey but I’m sure a lot of work went into it. And the cost only comes out to about 2 cents per polygon!

  2. Ray permalink
    July 6, 2010 8:13 am

    Wonderful sentiment. We should all be grateful.

Comments are closed.

