Skip to content

The Other Hated Question – Which Camera?

July 7, 2010

Which camera should I buy? Boy, that’s another question that I hate. But it comes around more often than I would like, be it by email or by phone. I really cringe when I hear the ” Yeah I have $200 to spend, so which camera?” I’ll be very blunt. In the $200 price range, you might as well take the current models, put them into a hat, then put your hand in and just pick one out. People have unrealistic expectations at that price point. They’re all small sensor cameras, and they’ll all come with small sensor noise for free.

Recently, I’ve had a lot of questions about the new Superzoom consumer cams.  So when asked, I trek on over to one if the tech sites, look up the specs and try and come up with a few educated replies. For you see, I just don’t care. But now, I can just send a link, because DPReview has put up a super Zoom Group test which includes the following cams

  • Canon PowerShot SX20 IS
  • Casio Exilim EX-FH25
  • Fujifilm FinePix S2500HD
  • Fujifilm FinePix HS10
  • Kodak EasyShare Z981
  • Nikon Coolpix P100
  • Panasonic DMC-FZ35 / FZ38
  • Pentax X90
  • Samsung HZ25W / WB5000

Me, I’ll stick with my Leica or even the Nikon D90 for casual outings. I’m kind of done with camera mania. I have my work cams and my pleasure cams. When something breaks, I’ll replace it. But for those of you who just have to have the latest on the Super Zooms, here’s the link.

Share

Comments are closed.

